SEA AiR – Studio Residencies for Southeast Asian Artists in the EU Cycle 2

About SEA AiR

SEA AiR is a new programme that aims to foster artistic exchange between Southeast Asia and the European Union, with Singapore as its hub. Developed by NTU Centre for Contemporary Art Singapore (NTU CCA Singapore), the project is funded by the European Union and it offers emerging Southeast Asian artists a long-term engagement comprising a three-month residency in a EU country and the opportunity to create new works, inspired by the residency experience, that will be presented to the public in Singapore in a group exhibition curated by NTU CCA Singapore. Dedicated to artists who have not yet had a significant professional experience in Europe, SEA AiR pivots the creative and cultural exchange between Southeast Asia and the European Union on emerging visual art practitioners by providing a significant platform for professional and personal growth through the format of artistic residencies and a curated group exhibition. The residencies are hosted by established European contemporary art institutions engaged as project partners.

SEA AiR Cycle 2


Selection Process

Seven artists and curators from different Southeast Asian countries were invited to contribute to SEA AiR as nominators. Since artists from Cambodia, Indonesia, and Thailand participated in the inaugural cycle, the scouting process for the second cycle of SEA AiR focused on the remaining Southeast Asian countries to ensure the equitable distribution of the programme’s resources. The nominators were asked to leverage on their in-depth knowledge of the emerging contemporary art practices in their respective countries by nominating outstanding practitioners who could benefit from this opportunity. The nominated artists were subsequently invited to submit an application to participate in the programme.

After reviewing the applications for Cycle 2 the Selection Committee selected artists Priyageetha Dia (Singapore), Ngoc Nau (Vietnam) and Saroot Supasuthivech (Thailand). The Selection Committee also shortlisted five artists in acknowledgement of their artistic promise.

The SEA AiR Selection Committee for Cycle 2 included: Prof Ute Meta Bauer, (Chair), Founding Director, NTU CCA Singapore and Professor, School of Art, Design and Media, NTU;  Hicham Khalidi, Director, Jan Van Eyck Academie;  Monika Lipšic, Residency Curator, Rupert;  Christoph Tannert, Artistic Director, Künstlerhaus Bethanien;  Dr Karin Oen, Senior Lecturer and Head of Department, Art History, NTU School of Humanities; and Eszter Nemeth, Deputy Head of Mission, European Union Delegation to Singapore.